1891 Home Nations Championship

1891 Home Nations Championship

Six Nations Championship2
Six Nations Championship2 Less

1891 Home Nations Championship

to get instant updates about '1891 Home Nations Championship' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The 1891 Home Nations Championship was the ninth series of the rugby union Home Nations Championship. Six matches were played between 3 January and 7 March. It was contested by England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

The 1891 Championship was won by Scotland, the fourth time the country had topped the table, but the first time Scotland had taken the Triple Crown title.

Rule changes this year, included the introduction of penalty goals, as although penalty kicks were introduced in 1882 no goal attempts could be made from one until this season. The two umpires were renamed as touch-judges and their powers were reduced to mark the spot where the ball left the field of play; a status that remained until additional powers were reinstated in 1982.



Scoring system

The matches for this season were decided on points scored. A try was worth one point, while converting a kicked goal from the try gave an additional two points. A dropped goal was worth three points. Penalty goals were now worth three points, as although introduced in 1882, no attempt could be made from a penalty kick at goal until this season.

The matches

Wales vs. England

<small>Wales: Billy Bancroft (Swansea), Tom Pearson (Cardiff), Charlie Arthur (Cardiff), David Gwynn (Swansea),......
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Six Nations Championship 2
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from