1919 South American Championship

1919 South American Championship

International FootballCompetition
International FootballCompetition Less

1919 South American Championship

to get instant updates about '1919 South American Championship' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The 1919 South American Championship of Nations was the third continental championship for South American nations. It was held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from May 11 to May 29, 1919.

The participating countries were Brazil, Argentina, Chile and Uruguay as the defending champion.

After finishing tied in the group positions, host Brazil beat Uruguay in the playoff match and obtained their first title. This was the longest match in the competition, since it was needed an extra time, which oddly consisted of four periods of 15 minutes each, and not two of 15 as is still usual nowadays.


There was no qualifying for the tournament. The participating countries were Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay. All teams competed between each other in a single group. Two points were awarded for a win, one for a draw and zero for a defeat. If there was a tie of points at the top of the standings, a playoff match would be held to determine the champion.

Final standings



(*)Four extra times of 15 minutes each were played. This made the match last 150 minutes, the longest in the tournament's history.

Goal scorers

4 goals 3 goals
  • Edwin Clarcke
  • Carlos Izaguirre
  • Carlos Scarone
2 goals 1 goal
  • Millon
  • Alfredo France
  • José Pérez
Own goals
  • Manuel Varela (for Argentina)

External links

  • at RSSSF

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


International Football Competition
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from