1925 VFL season

1925 VFL Season

VFL PremiershipSeason
VFL PremiershipSeason

1925 VFL season

to get instant updates about '1925 VFL Season' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Results and statistics for the Victorian Football League season of 1925.

New Teams

In 1915, and from 1919 to 1924, there were nine teams in the VFL competition. In these seasons each team played each other twice in a home-and-away season of 18 rounds (i.e., they played 16 matches and had 2 byes).

In 1919, in order to eliminate these unsatisfactory byes, the VFL had sought expressions of interest from clubs wishing to join the VFL.

Whilst there was talk of an Ex-Servicemen's Club and a Public Servants' Club, applications were actually lodged on behalf of a combined Ballarat Football League team and VFA clubs Brunswick, Footscray, Hawthorn, North Melbourne, Port Melbourne, and Prahran.

The VFL took six years to make a decision.

At the end of 1924, the VFL considered applications from Brighton, Brunswick, Camberwell, Caulfield (not the Caulfield Football Club that played in the VFA 1965-1987), Footscray, Hawthorn, North Melbourne, and Prahran. By its 9 January 1925 meeting, the VFL had short listed four candidates: Footscray, Hawthorn, North Melbourne, and Prahran. Three weeks later, the VFL announced that it was admitting Footscray, Hawthorn, and North Melbourne to its competition.

Premiership season

In 1925, the VFL competition consisted of twelve teams of 18 on-the-field players each, with no "reserves", although any of the 18 players who had left the playing field for any reason could later resume their place on the field at any time during the match.

Teams played...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


VFL Premiership Season
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from