1958 Caribbean Series

1958 Caribbean Series

1958 Caribbean Series

to get instant updates about '1958 Caribbean Series' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The X edition of the Caribbean Series (Serie del Caribe) was played in 1958. It was held from February 8 through February 13 with the champions teams from Cuba (Marianao) Panama (Carta Vieja) Puerto Rico (Caguas) and Venezuela (Valencia). The format consisted of 12 games, each team facing the other teams twice. The games were played at Sixto Escobar stadium in San Juan, P.R.).


Cuba won the Series with a 4-2 record in route for a third straight championship (fifth overall). Managed by Napoleón Reyes, the team received offensive support from 2B Casey Wise (.407 BA), CF Solly Drake (.333) and LF Minnie Miñoso (.318). The pitching staff was led by Pedro Ramos (2-1, 18 strikeouts) and Bob Shaw (1-0, 1.69 ERA and no walks in 16 innings). The Cubans, who failed to hit a home run in the Series, also had 1B Julio Bécquer and C Ray Noble in addition to pitchers Mike Fornieles and Bill Werle. The Marianao club became the first repeat champions in the Series history.

Panama, led by catcher/manager Welmer Shantz, posted a 3-3 record to tie the second place with Puerto Rico. The Panamanian squad got fine work of pitchers Humberto Robinson (2-0, 1.00 ERA, including a four-hit...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from