19th Royal Hussars

19th Royal Hussars

Military Unit
Military Unit Less

19th Royal Hussars

to get instant updates about '19th Royal Hussars' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The 19th Royal Hussars (Queen Alexandra's Own) was a cavalry regiment of the British Army, created in 1857 and amalgamated to form the 15th/19th Hussars in 1922.


The regiment was originally raised in Bengal by the British East India Company in 1857 as the 1st Bengal European Light Cavalry, for service in the Indian Mutiny. During the Mutiny, a lieutenant of the regiment, Hugh Henry Gough, received the Victoria Cross.

As with all other "European" units of the Company, they were placed under the command of the Crown in 1858, and subsequently formally moved into the British Army in 1862 when they were designated as hussars as the 19th Hussars. At this time, the regiment was authorised to inherit the battle honours of the disbanded 19th Light Dragoons. The 19th Hussars saw service in the 1882 Egyptian expedition, fighting at Tel el Kebir, and in the 1884-5 expedition to the Sudan at the Battle of Abu Klea. During the South African War they fought in the relief of Ladysmith. The regiment was titled 19th (Alexandra, Princess of Wales's Own) Hussars after Alexandra, Princess of Wales. In 1908, when Alexandra became Queen Consort, the name changed to 19th (Queen Alexandra's Own Royal) Hussars.

First World War

With the outbreak of the First World War, the regiment was split up, with squadrons attached to the 4th, 5th and 6th Infantry Divisions as divisional cavalry...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Military Unit
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from