2002 Women's Hockey World Cup

2002 Women's Hockey World Cup

Hockey Less

2002 Women's Hockey World Cup

to get instant updates about '2002 Women's Hockey World Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The 2002 Hockey World Cup for women is the 10th edition of the Women's Hockey World Cup. It was held from November 24 to December 8, 2002.

Argentina won its first ever World Championship after beating Netherlands 1–1 (4–3) in penalty stroke. China record its best ever World Cup position after beating Australia 2–0 in the third place play-off.



The Qualification Tournament took place in Amiens, France from September 18 to September 30, 2001. The final rankings in the tournament are as listed below, with qualifying teams emboldened.

Participating nations

The five continental champions, the European and the host country (defending champion also) are starting entitled, and make up the final line-up alongside the six nations from the qualifying tournament. United States, which withdrew from qualification tournament, are gave the nods by FIH to compete it.

(American champion)
(Host & defending champion)
(European runner-up)
(Asia champion)
(European champion)
(Oceania champion)
(Fourth place in the 2000 Summer Olympics)
(African champion)


For more details on this topic, see 2002 Women's Hockey World Cup squads


The International Hockey Federation has appointed 18 umpires for this tournament:
  • Chieko Akiyama
  • Michelle Arnold
  • Julie Ashton-Lucy
  • Judith Barnesby
  • RenĂ©e Cohen
  • Ute Conen
  • ......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from