2006 Tri Nations Series

2006 Tri Nations Series

Rugby Union Tri Nations
Rugby Union Tri Nations Less

2006 Tri Nations Series

to get instant updates about '2006 Tri Nations Series' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The 2006 Tri Nations Series, an annual rugby union competition between the national teams of Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, marked the tenth anniversary of the original competition. With three rounds still remaining, the New Zealand All Blacks were assured of first place in the competition after their victory over Australia on 19 August, their 21st consecutive home win.

This year, for the first time, each team played the others three times, instead of twice, as had been the case previously. This was the result of a new television deal between SANZAR, the consortium of the three countries' rugby federations that organises the tournament, and broadcasters in the SANZAR countries and the United Kingdom. As a result, the duration of the competition was extended and it ran from 8 July to 9 September.

The All Blacks won all three matches against Australia, thus retaining the Bledisloe Cup. They also won two of their three matches against South Africa, thereby winning the Freedom Cup for the first time. Australia regained the Mandela Challenge Plate after winning their two home tests against South Africa.



As in past competitions, points were earned as follows:

  • 4 points for a win
  • 2 points for a draw
  • 0 points for a loss
  • 1 bonus point for scoring 4 tries or more, win or lose
  • 1 bonus point for a loss by 7 points or less

The run-up


At the end of 2005, the......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Rugby Union Tri Nations
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from