2008 NCAA Division I FBS football season

2008 NCAA Division I FBS Football Season

NCAA Division I FBSSeason
NCAA Division I FBSSeason Less

2008 NCAA Division I FBS football season

to get instant updates about '2008 NCAA Division I FBS Football Season' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The 2008 NCAA Division I FBS football season, or the college football season, began on August 28, 2008, progressing through the regular season and bowl season, and (aside from all-star exhibition games that followed) concluded with the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) National Championship Game in Miami Gardens, Florida on January 8, 2009, where the #2 Florida Gators, defeated the #1 Oklahoma Sooners, 24–14, of which the teams were determined by the BCS Ranking. The Gators were declared national champions by the BCS and most major polls.

Rule changes for 2008

The NCAA football rules committee made several rule changes for 2008, and includes the following:
  • The 25-second play clock was replaced by a 40-second version similar to one that was used in the NFL until 2005.
  • The penalty for kicking the ball out of bounds on the kickoff is increased, placing the ball at the 40-yard line, similar to the NFL.
  • All face-mask penalties result in a 15-yard penalty. Incidental contact with the face mask is no longer penalized.
  • All horse-collar tackles are now subject to a 15-yard penalty.
  • If a coach challenges a play, and he wins the challenge, then he is given a second challenge to use later in the game, but each coach has a maximum of two challenges per game even if both are decided in his favor.

Key matchups and upsets

Conference standings

<!--Please note,...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


NCAA Division I FBS Season
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from