23 November 2006 Sadr City bombings

23 November 2006 Sadr City Bombings

Terrorist Attack
Terrorist Attack Less

23 November 2006 Sadr City bombings

to get instant updates about '23 November 2006 Sadr City Bombings' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!

X 

All Updates


Description:
The 2006 Sadr City bombings were a series of car bombs and mortar attacks in Iraq that began on 23 November at 15:10 Baghdad time (12:10 Greenwich Mean Time) and ended at 15:55 (12:55 GMT). Six car bombs and two mortar rounds were used in the attack on the Shia slum in Sadr City. - Yahoo! News (Link dead as of 15 January 2007)

Casualties and aftermath

The attacks killed at least 215 people and injured 257 others, making it the second deadliest sectarian attack since the beginning of the Iraq War in 2003. - CNN - BBC News - MSNBC Following the attacks, the Iraqi government placed Baghdad under 24-hour curfew beginning at 20:00 Baghdad time (17:00 GMT), shut down Baghdad International Airport to commercial traffic, and closed the docks and airport in Basra, Iraq. The curfew was lifted on 27 November. - MSNBC - Reuters, 27 November 2006

The Shi'ites responded almost immediately, firing 10 mortar rounds at the Abu Hanifa Sunni mosque as Azamiya, the holiest Sunni shrine in Baghdad, killing one person and wounding seven. The morning of 24 November 2006, the Associated Press reported that Shiite militiamen retaliated for the attacks, dousing six Sunni Arabs in......
Read More

No feeds found

All
Posting your question. Please wait!...


About

Terrorist Attack
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from