31st Canadian Parliament

31st Canadian Parliament

Canadian Parliament
Canadian Parliament Less

31st Canadian Parliament

to get instant updates about '31st Canadian Parliament' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

<!-- Missing image removed: -->The 31st Canadian Parliament was a briefly lived parliament in session from October 9 until December 14, 1979. The membership was set by the 1979 federal election on May 22, 1979, and it was dissolved after the minority government of Joe Clark failed to pass a Motion of Confidence on December 13, 1979. The dissolution of parliament led to the 1980 federal election. Lasting only 66 days from first sitting to dissolution, and only nine months from election to election, the 31st was the shortest parliament in Canadian history.

The 31st Parliament was controlled by a Progressive Conservative Party minority led by Prime Minister Joe Clark and the 21st Canadian Ministry. The Official Opposition was the Liberal Party, led by former prime minister Pierre Trudeau.

The Speaker was James Alexander Jerome. See also List of Canadian electoral districts 1976-1987 for a list of the ridings in this parliament.

There was only one session of the 31st Parliament:

The party standings as of the election and as of dissolution were:

Members of the House of Commons

Members of the House of Commons in the 31st parliament arranged by province.


<nowiki>*</nowiki> Donald Jamieson resigned from parliament and was replaced by Roger Simmons in a September 19, 1979 by-election

Prince Edward Island

Nova Scotia

New Brunswick





<nowiki>*</nowiki>John Diefenbaker died on......

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Canadian Parliament
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from