32nd Canadian Parliament

32nd Canadian Parliament

Canadian Parliament
Canadian Parliament Less

32nd Canadian Parliament

to get instant updates about '32nd Canadian Parliament' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The 32nd Canadian Parliament was in session from April 14, 1980 until July 9, 1984. The membership was set by the 1980 federal election on February 18, 1980, and it only changed slightly due to resignations and by-elections prior to being dissolved before the 1984 election.

It was controlled by a Liberal Party majority, led first by Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau and the 22nd Canadian Ministry, and then by Prime Minister John Turner and the 23rd Canadian Ministry. The Official Opposition was the Progressive Conservative Party, led first by Joe Clark, and then Brian Mulroney.

The Speaker was Jeanne Sauvé then Cyril Lloyd Francis. See also List of Canadian electoral districts 1976-1987 for a list of the ridings in this parliament.

There were two sessions of the 32nd Parliament:

The party standings as of the election and as of dissolution were:<nowiki>*</nowiki> After dissolution but before turning over power, Prime Minister John Turner filled ten of the Senate vacancies with Liberal members, for a total caucus of 74.

Members of the House of Commons

Members of the House of Commons in the 32nd parliament arranged by province.


Prince Edward Island

Nova Scotia

<nowiki>*</nowiki> Elmer MacKay resigned his seat to give new Tory leader Brian Mulroney a place in the Commons after an August 1983 by-election.

New Brunswick


<nowiki>*</nowiki> Roch La Salle resigned from parliament on March 17, 1981, to......

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Canadian Parliament
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from