33rd Canadian Parliament

33rd Canadian Parliament

Canadian Parliament
Canadian Parliament Less

33rd Canadian Parliament

to get instant updates about '33rd Canadian Parliament' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The 33rd Canadian Parliament was in session from November 5, 1984 until October 1, 1988. The membership was set by the 1984 federal election on September 4, 1984, and it only changed slightly due to resignations and by-elections prior to being dissolved before the 1988 election.

It was controlled by a Progressive Conservative majority under Prime Minister Brian Mulroney and the 24th Canadian Ministry. The Official Opposition was the Liberal Party, led by former prime minister John Turner.

The Speaker was first John William Bosley and then John Allen Fraser. See also List of Canadian electoral districts 1976-1987 for a list of the ridings in this parliament.

There were two session of the 33rd Parliament:

The party standings as of the election and as of dissolution were:

Members of the House of Commons

Members of the House of Commons in the 33rd parliament arranged by province.


Prince Edward Island

Nova Scotia

New Brunswick


<nowiki>*</nowiki> Clément M. Côté resigned and was replaced by Lucien Bouchard in a June 20, 1988 by-election
<nowiki>**</nowiki> Jean Chrétien resigned from parliament due to poor relations with the party leader. He was replaced by Gilles Grondin in a September 29, 1987 by-election.


<nowiki>*</nowiki> Ian Deans left parliament to be appointed to a position in......

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Canadian Parliament
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from