36th Canadian Parliament

36th Canadian Parliament

Canadian Parliament
Canadian Parliament Less

36th Canadian Parliament

to get instant updates about '36th Canadian Parliament' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The 36th Canadian Parliament was in session from September 22, 1997 until October 22, 2000. The membership was set by the 1997 federal election on June 2, 1997, and it changed only somewhat due to resignations and by-elections until it was dissolved prior to the 2000 election.

It was controlled by a Liberal Party majority under Prime Minister Jean Chr├ętien and the 26th Canadian Ministry. The Official Opposition was first the Reform Party, led by Preston Manning, and then its successor party, the Canadian Alliance led by interim leader Deborah Grey.

The Speaker was Gilbert Parent. See also list of Canadian electoral districts 1996-2003 for a list of the ridings in this parliament.

For the first time in Canadian history, five different parties held official party status. Although five major parties ran for the 35th Parliament, the Progressive Conservative Party of Canada and the New Democratic Party both failed to win official party status in that parliament.

There were two session of the 36th Parliament:

The party standings as of the election and as of dissolution were:

Members of the House of Commons

Members of the House of Commons in the 36th parliament arranged by province.


Prince Edward Island

Nova Scotia

<nowiki>*</nowiki> Scott Brison left parliament in 2000 to allow new Tory leader Joe Clark to run in a by-election to win a seat in the House.

New Brunswick

<nowiki>*</nowiki> Angela Vautour left the New Democratic...... ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Canadian Parliament
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from