A. Murray MacKay Bridge

A. Murray MacKay Bridge


A. Murray MacKay Bridge

to get instant updates about 'A. Murray MacKay Bridge' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates


The A. Murray MacKay Bridge locally known as "the new bridge" is the second suspension bridge linking the Halifax Peninsula with Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, and opened on July 10, 1970.

The A. Murray MacKay Bridge measures with the total of all suspended spans being in length, carrying four traffic lanes with posted speed limits of . Pedestrians and bicycles are not permitted on the A. Murray MacKay Bridge; they may use dedicated lanes on the Angus L. Macdonald Bridge instead.

As of April 1, 2011, the toll charge to cross for regular passenger vehicles is $1.00 cash or $0.70 with the MACPASS electronic toll system (60ยข tokens were once used but are no longer accepted as of May 1, 2008). Larger vehicles have higher tolls proportional to the number of axles. The Halifax-Dartmouth Bridge Commission is exploring the idea of moving entirely to electronic tolls to avoid handling tokens or cash. The A. Murray MacKay Bridge is the only harbour bridge which permits semi-trailers and large trucks.

The bridge is named after Alexander Murray MacKay, chairman of the Halifax-Dartmouth Bridge Commission from 1951 to 1971 and past chief executive officer of MT&T. MacKay was instrumental in having both the Angus L. Macdonald Bridge and his namesake structure built during his tenure at the commission.

Africville controversy

A major political controversy preceded construction of the MacKay Bridge when the city of Halifax expropriated residents from the community of Africville...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from