Abakada alphabet

to get instant updates about 'Abakada Alphabet' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Abakada alphabet is an indigenized Latin alphabet of the Tagalog language of the Philippines. The alphabet, which contains 20 letters, was created by Lope K. Santos in 1940. The alphabet was officially adopted by the Institute of National Language () to be used as an alphabet for the Tagalog-Based National Language (), otherwise known as the National Language (Filipino: Wikang Pambansâ).

Order/Collation of the Abakada alphabet


During the Pre-Hispanic Era, Old Tagalog was written using the Kawi or the Baybayin script. Dr. José Rizal, the national hero of the Philippines, initially suggested to indigenize the alphabet of the Philippine languages by replacing the letters C and Q with K. Based on Rizal's indigenization proposal, the Abakada became the alphabet for the Tagalog language.

At present, all languages of the Philippines may be written using the Modern Filipino alphabet, which includes all the letters of the Abakada alphabet.

Relationship of the Abakada alphabet to Baybayin script

Abakada is arranged this way. Inside the quotation marks are the names of the letters.
A - "A"
B - "Ba"
K - "Ka"
D - "Da"
E - "E"
G - "Ga"
H - "Ha"
I - "I"
L - "La"
M - "Ma"
N - "Na"
Ng - "Nga"
O - "O"
P - "Pa"
R - "Ra"
S - "Sa"
T - "Ta"
U - "U"
W -......

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from