Administrative divisions of Nazi Germany

Administrative Divisions Of Nazi Germany

Administrative divisions of Nazi Germany

to get instant updates about 'Administrative Divisions Of Nazi Germany' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Following the suppression of the individual Länder (states) of Weimar Germany in 1934, the Gaue (Singular: Gau) were the de facto administrative sub-divisions of Nazi Germany.

The Nazi Gaue were formed in 1926 as Nazi party districts of the respective German states and Prussian provinces as shaped in the aftermath of World War I. , Deutsches Historisches Museum, accessed: 25 June 2008 Each Gau had an administrative leader, the Gauleiter (Gau leader). Though Länder and Prussian provinces continued to exist after the Enabling Act of 1933, their administration was reduced to a rudimentary body attached to the respective Nazi Gau administration in the Gleichschaltung process. In total, Germany consisted of 32 Gaue in 1934, and 42 Gaue at its collapse in 1945. The Nizkor Project, accessed: 25 June 2008

The regions occupied in 1938 (Anschluss of Austria, Sudetenland from Czechoslovakia by the Munich Agreement) and early 1939 (Klaipėda Region or Memelland from Lithuania) as well as the areas conquered during the Second World War were either incorporated into existing Gaue or organised in Reichsgaue, similar to the Gaue in all but name. In the Reichsgaue, the Gauleiter also carried the position of Reichsstatthalter., thereby formally combining the spheres of both party and state offices.

Eventually, in the aftermath of its defeat in the war, and the Yalta Conference,...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from