Administrative divisions of New Caledonia

Administrative Divisions Of New Caledonia

Administrative divisions of New Caledonia

to get instant updates about 'Administrative Divisions Of New Caledonia' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

New Caledonia is divided into three provinces:
  • South Province (province Sud = the southern mainland). Provincial capital: Nouméa. Population: 164,113 inhabitants (2004).
  • North Province (province Nord = the northern mainland). Provincial capital: Koné. Population: 44,596 inhabitants (2004).
  • Loyalty Islands Province (province des îles Loyauté). Provincial capital: Lifou. Population: 22,080 inhabitants (2004).

Each of these provinces has its own flag and emblem and has considerable powers, including all powers that are not explicitly the prerogative of either the Territorial Congress in Nouméa or the French Republic in Paris. The provinces are further subdivided into communes (municipalities) which in fact in most cases predate the establishment of the provinces, whose borders and powers were outlined in 1988 (see Matignon Accords). One commune, Poya, was then divided between the two mainland provinces. This state of affairs continues to this day. The provincial seat of the North Province is at Koné (although physically located closer to the town of Pouembout). The South Province has its provincial seat at Nouméa, although La Foa also serves as the seat of some administrations (see Administrative subdivisions section below). The Loyalty Islands Province has its seat at in the commune of Lifou.


Communal seats are shown in parentheses if different from the commune name.
  1. Belep...... ...
  2. ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from