Administrative divisions of South Korea

Administrative Divisions Of South Korea

Administrative divisions of South Korea

to get instant updates about 'Administrative Divisions Of South Korea' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

<!--discussion of "Special City" or "Metropolitan Government"-->||

South Korea is divided into 8 provinces (do), 1 special autonomous province (teukbyeol jachido), 6 metropolitan cities (gwangyeoksi), and 1 special city (teukbyeolsi). These are further subdivided into a variety of smaller entities, including cities (si), counties (gun), districts (gu), towns (eup), townships (myeon), neighborhoods (dong) and villages (ri), as explained below.

Note on translation: although the terms "Special City", "Metropolitan City", "Province", and "City" are commonly used on English-language government websites, the other translations &mdash; "county", "town", "district", etc. &mdash; are not official translations, and are only intended to serve as useful illustrations of each entity's meaning. The northwestern islands of Yeonpyeong Island, Baengnyeong Island, Daecheong Island, and the much smaller Socheong Island are part of Ongjin.

Local government

Korean terms appear in their official Revised Romanization of Korean spelling.

Provincial level divisions

Provincial level divisions are the first-level division within South Korea and it is divided into four groups: provinces, special self-governing province, special city, and metropolitan cities.

Municipal level divisions

Si (City)

A si (시, ) is one of the divisions of a province, along with gun. Cities have a population...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from