Aetolian League (football)

Aetolian League (Football)

Aetolian League (football)

to get instant updates about 'Aetolian League (Football)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Aetolian League was a short lived football league in the south east of England. It was established in 1959 after the demise of the Kent League left a number of clubs without a home. In 1964 after only five seasons of existence, it merged with the London League to form the Greater London League.

Founder members

Fourteen clubs became founder members of the new league. Seven clubs - Deal Town, Faversham Town, Chatham Town, Snowdown Colliery Welfare, Herne Bay, Sheppey United and Whitstable Town had competed in the Kent League the previous season while four clubs,Eton Manor, Willesden, Cray Wanderers and Cheshunt joined from the London League. A new club Ford United joined, being a merger of Briggs Motor Bodies and Ford Sports, both of whom had competed in the London League. Crockenhill joined from the Kent Amateur League, with Charlton Athletic "A" completing the numbers in the first division. A second division consisted mainly of reserve sides of clubs in the First Division but also contained Medway Corinthians. The proliferation of reserve sides meant that there was no promotion or relegation between the two divisions throughout the league’s history.


1959-60 season

Ford United were the first champions finishing narrowly ahead of Deal Town. Suffering financial difficulties as a result of traveling to more distant London clubs, the bottom club Whitstable Town resigned from the league at the end of...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from