African Union

African Union

Geopolitical Organization
Geopolitical Organization Less

African Union

to get instant updates about 'African Union' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

}The African Union (abbreviated AU in English, and UA in its other official languages) is a union consisting of 54 African states. The only all-African state not in the AU is Morocco. Established on 9 July 2002, the AU was formed as a successor to the (OAU). The most important decisions of the AU are made by the , a semi-annual meeting of the heads of state and government of its member states. The AU's secretariat, the , is based in , .


Among the objectives of the AU's leading institutions are:
  • to accelerate the political and socio-economic integration of the continent;
  • to promote and defend African common positions on issues of interest to the continent and its peoples;
  • to achieve peace and security in Africa; and
  • to promote democratic institutions, good governance and human rights.

The African Union is made up of both political and administrative bodies. The highest decision-making organ is the Assembly of the African Union, made up of all the heads of state or government of member states of the AU. The Assembly is chaired by Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, leader of Equatorial Guinea, elected at the tenth ordinary meeting of the Assembly in January 2011. The AU also has a representative body, the Pan African Parliament, which consists of 265 members elected by the national parliaments of the AU member states. Its president is Idriss Ndele Moussa.

Other political institutions of the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Geopolitical Organization
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from