Agartala Municipal Council

Agartala Municipal Council

Agartala Municipal Council

to get instant updates about 'Agartala Municipal Council' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Agartala Municipal Council is the municipal body which governs and maintains the city of Agartala.


The Capital Agartala (new) was founded in 1838 AD by Maharaja Krishna Kishore Manikya (1830-49 AD).

The Agartala Municipality was instituted in 1871 AD during the reign of Maharaja Chandra Manikya (1862-96 AD). The first British Political Agent appointed for Tipprah in 1871 AD, Mr. A.W.B. Power, was offered the honour of being the Chairman of the Agartala Municipality. The municipality is located at the crossing of Latitude N 23 –50` and Longitude E 91-17`, covering 3 km² during that period.


The Municipal Council consists of councillors elected by the residents of the city. The city is divided into municipal wards and each ward elects a councillor to the Council.

The current majority of AMC belongs to the Left Front.

The municipal area was 16.012 km² with a population of 1,89,329 as of the 2001 census.The Urban Development Department Notification No.F.2(2)–UDD /2003 dated July 2, 2004 the Agartala Municipal Council has further been extended taking 16 No. of Grams of Dukli R.D.Block, 7 No. of Grams of Mohanpur R.D. Block and 2 No. of Grams of Jirania R.D. Block with an area of 42.83 square kilometers and a population of 178,495.

External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from