Aizawl district

to get instant updates about 'Aizawl District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Aizawl district is one of the 8 districts of Mizoram state in India. The district is bounded on the north by Kolasib district, on the west by Mamit district, on the south by Serchhip districts and on the east by Champhai district. The district occupies an area of 3576.31 kmĀ². The headquarters of the district is Aizawl city, the capital of Mizoram.

Origin of name

The district is named after the headquarter of the district, Aizawl city. In Mizo language, ai also known as aidu refers to a herb (one of the turmeric speci) and zawl means plain or field. The name of the city was probably derived from the abundance of the aidu in the area during the previous years.


According to the census of 2001 total population of the district is 339,812, out of which male population is 173,930 and female population is 165,882. The literacy rate as per the same census is 96.64% (male 97.20% and female 96.06%).


The district has 5 R.D. Blocks, Aibawk, Darlawn, Phullen, Thingsulthliah and Tlangnuam.

The district has 14 legislative assembly constituencies. These are Tuivawl, Chalfilh, Tawi, Aizawl North-I, Aizawl North-II, Aizawl North-III, Aizawl East-I, Aizawl East-II, Aizawl West-I, Aizawl West-II, Aizawl West-III, Aizawl South I, Aizawl South II and Aizawl South III.


Lengpui Airport, located at a distance of 32 km from Aizawl city provides connection with Kolkata and Guwahati by daily flights and with Imphal by three flights a......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from