Akhil Bharatiya Gorkha League

Akhil Bharatiya Gorkha League

_Indian_Political_Party Less

Akhil Bharatiya Gorkha League

to get instant updates about 'Akhil Bharatiya Gorkha League' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Akhil Bharatiya Gorkha League (ABGL) (Nepali: अखिल भारतीय गोर्खा लीग) (also called All India Gorkha League (AIGL/IGL)) is a political party working amongst the Nepali-speaking population in Darjeeling District, West Bengal, India. The party was founded in 1943 by Damber Singh Gurung. The current president is Bharati Tamang, widow of late Madan Tamang, a former president of ABGL. Dawa Sherpa is the Working President and Laxman Pradhan is the General Secretary of the party.

Ahead of the 1999 DGHC elections, ABGL was part of the United Front, an alliance consisting of Communist Party of Revolutionary Marxists, ABGL, Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Gorkha Janashakti, Communist Party of India, All India Trinamool Congress, Bharatiya Nepali Bir Gorkha and Sikkim Rashtriya Mukti Morcha.

ABGL was later a part of the People's Democratic Front (PDF), a six-party alliance led by the CPRM and including Indian National Congress (Hills), Gorkha National Liberation Front , ABGL, Bharatiya Janata Party and Gorkha Democratic Front (a party that was formed by Madan Tamang before his return to ABGL). PDF stood for Gorkha autonomy but was opposed to the Gorkha National Liberation Front (GNLF) led by Subhash Ghisingh.

ABGL is currently part of the Democratic Front, an alliance of the CPRM, BJP and other parties. ABGL opposes the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) and stands for peaceful democracy in the Darjeeling hills. It is...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from