Anglican religious order

Anglican Religious Order

Anglican religious order

to get instant updates about 'Anglican Religious Order' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Anglican religious orders are communities of laity and/or clergy in the Anglican Communion who live under a common rule of life. The members of religious orders take vows of poverty, chastity, and obedience, and lead a common life of work and prayer. Most members of Anglican religious orders will refer to themselves as monks and nuns, and do not usually make distinctions between nuns and religious sisters or between monks and friars as Roman Catholics do.

Religious orders were dissolved by King Henry VIII when he separated the Church of England from papal primacy. With the rise of the Catholic Revival and the Oxford Movement in Anglicanism in the mid-nineteenth century, however, there was an interest in the revival of religious orders in England. Between 1841 and 1855, several religious orders for women were begun, among them the Community of St. Mary the Virgin at Wantage and the Society of Saint Margaret at East Grinstead. Religious orders for men appeared later, beginning in 1866 with the Society of St. John the Evangelist (Cowley Fathers). In North America, the founding of Anglican religious orders began in 1842 with the Nashotah Community (men) in Wisconsin, followed in 1845 by the Sisterhood of the Holy Communion in New York. In recent decades, there has been a remarkable growth of religious orders in other parts of the Anglican Communion, most notably in Tanzania, South Africa, and the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and Papua New Guinea. There are currently about 2,400 monks...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from