Arab states of the Persian Gulf

Arab States Of The Persian Gulf

Arab states of the Persian Gulf

to get instant updates about 'Arab States Of The Persian Gulf' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

<!--Please see the talk page before changing Persian Gulf to Arab or Arabian Gulf.-->

"Arab states of the Persian Gulf" or "Arab Persian Gulf states" or "Persian Gulf Arab states" or "Arabic Persian Gulf states" or "Arab States of The Gulf", are terms that refer to the six Arab monarchical states of Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain and Oman, bordering the Persian Gulf. These six nations are part of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC). Although Iraq is considered an Arab state and shares a small border with the Persian Gulf, it is not usually included in the designation.


All of the Arab states of the Persian Gulf have significant revenues from oil and gas and, with the exception of Saudi Arabia, have small local populations. This has raised their per capita incomes to higher than those of their neighbors. To meet the labor shortages they host large numbers of temporary non-citizen economic migrants from South Asia (mostly India) and Southeast Asia (mostly the Philippines and Indonesia). In the past there were also significant numbers of immigrants from Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, Yemen and Egypt.

In addition, pearl diving and the pearl industry was the main economic activity of many of these countries (particularly Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Qatar and Kuwait). The pearling industry collapsed in the 1930s after the development of cultured pearl methods, especially in Japan.

Culture and......

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from