Arakan Mountains

to get instant updates about 'Arakan Mountains' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Arakan Mountains (Arakan Range, Rakhine Range, Rakhine Yoma , Arakan Yoma, Rakhine Roma, Arakan Roma; ) is a mountain range in western Burma , between the coast of Rakhine State and the Central Burma Basin, in which flows the Irrawaddy River. It is the most prominent of a series of parallel ridges that arc through Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram and Burma. The Arakan Mountains run from Cape Negrais in the south into the Manipur State of India in the north. They include the Naga Hills, the Chin Hills, and the Patkai range which includes the Lushai Hills. Encyclopedia Britannica

Geology and formation

The Arakan Mountains and the parallel arcs to the west and east were formed by compression as the Indian Plate collided with the Eurasian Plate approximately along the boundary between India and Nepal.See Geology of India#Plate tectonics for more detail.Akhtar, Mohammad S. et al. (2010) (adapted from oral presentation at AAPG Annual Convention, Denver, Colorado, June 7-10, 2009)

High points

The Arakan Mountain Range is over 600 miles (950 km) long, with about 250 miles (400 km) of actual mountains. The highest point in the range is Mount Victoria at 3,094 meters (10,150 feet).


The Arakan Mountains are crossed by the An route to Ngape and Minbu and by an all-weather road from Taungup to Pyay on the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from