Archbishopric of Mechelen-Brussels

Archbishopric Of Mechelen-Brussels

Diocese Less

Archbishopric of Mechelen-Brussels

to get instant updates about 'Archbishopric Of Mechelen-Brussels' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Mechelen-Brussels is the Roman Catholic Primatial See in Belgium. It is also the name of the Ecclesiastical Province governed by the Archbishop of Mechelen-Brussels, which covers the whole of Belgium. The current Archbishop is André-Mutien Léonard, who was installed in January 2010.

Dual name

The addition of Brussels to the See's name is actually a fairly recent innovation, as part of a restructuring of the Belgian province adapting to the socio-political reality<!--at the time a 'reality' or a by one archbishop more 'desired projected reality', e.i. a 'goal'? — MEANWHILE clarify "made into was one" in the next sentence-->. Most of the secular province of Antwerp (except the 'arrondissement', i.e. district, of Mechelen itself) made into was one of several new dioceses, thus generally corresponding to the administrative structure of the country. The resulting archdiocese consisted of the province of Brabant in addition to eight municipalities in the province of Antwerp, including Bonheiden, Duffel, Mechelen and Sint-Katelijne-Waver.

The province of Brabant was later split into three areas: This was not followed by a new break-up into dioceses, but had actually been anticipated by the creation of three vicariates general, often with their own auxiliary bishop, to accommodate the three regional entities.

Such a dual name is not...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from