Arlington Million

Arlington Million

Arlington Million

to get instant updates about 'Arlington Million' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Arlington Million is a Grade 1 flathorse race in the United States for thoroughbred horses aged three years and upward. It is raced over a distance of 1ΒΌ miles (approximately 2,000 metres) on the turf at Arlington Park, Arlington Heights, Illinois (a suburb of Chicago) in August each year.

The Arlington Million, as its name implies was the first thoroughbred race to offer a purse of US$1,000,000 in August 1981. It is part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge series, the winner of the 2008 Arlington Million automatically qualifies for the Breeders' Cup Turf.

The Arlington Million was introduced in 1981 by Joe Joyce, the President of Arlington at the time. The winner not only receives 60% of the million dollar purse but also the elegant Arlington Million Trophy. The race was graded after only its second running and was instantly awarded a grade one status in 1983 based upon the talent of the runners that raced in its first two years.

The horse John Henry succeeded in winning the race twice. On August 30, 1981, Willie Shoemaker became the first jockey to win a $1 million thoroughbred horse race when John Henry took the inaugural Arlington Million by a nose over The Bart. The track famously ran the Arlington Million in 1985 under the shadow of a burnt out grandstand, the victim of a fire 25 days earlier. In 2007, Jambalaya became the first Canadian bred horse to...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from