Arrondissements of Lyon

Arrondissements Of Lyon

Arrondissements of Lyon

to get instant updates about 'Arrondissements Of Lyon' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

<!-- Deleted image removed: -->The nine arrondissements of Lyon are the administrative divisions of the City of Lyon. Unlike the spiral pattern of the arrondissements of Paris, or the meandering pattern of those in Marseille, the layout in Lyon is more idiosyncratic. This is for historical reasons: following the annexation of the communes of La Guillotière, La Croix-Rousse and Vaise in 1852, the newly enlarged city was divided into 5 arrondissements, which originally spiralled out anticlockwise from the Hôtel de Ville (Town Hall); however, as the city's population expanded, it became necessary to split certain arrondissements, giving rise to today's seemingly random pattern.


Arrondissements of Lyon in 1852

  • 1st arrondissement: as today (Terreaux, Martinière/St-Vincent, Pentes de la Croix-Rousse)
  • 2nd arrondissement: as today (Cordeliers, Bellecour, Ainay, Perrache, Confluent)
  • 3rd arrondissement: former commune of La Guillotière (all of the Left Bank of the Rhône)
  • 4th arrondissement: as today (former commune of La Croix-Rousse)
  • 5th arrondissement: all of the Right Bank of the Saône (including Fourvière and the former commune of Vaise)

As the 19th century progressed, the area known then as Les Broteaux (sic) started to be developed by Morand and consequently the population of this part of the 3rd arrondissement began to increase rapidly. In 1867, the decision was taken to split the 3rd arrondissement in two, and a 6th arrondissement was created...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from