Arusha Region

to get instant updates about 'Arusha Region' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Arusha is one of Tanzania's 26 administrative regions. The regional capital and largest city is Arusha. Other towns include Monduli, just west of Arusha, Longido and Loliondo to the north, Mto Wa Mbu and Karatu to the west and Usa River to the east. The region is divided into these districts: Ngorongoro, Arusha, Karatu, Monduli, Longido and Arumeru.


The region is a popular tourist destination and is the centre of the Northern Tanzania Safari Circuit. Ngorongoro Crater, in the western part of the region, drew 250,000 visitors in 2004. Nearby national parks include Serengeti (most of which is in Mara Region), Arusha, Tarangire and Lake Manyara (in Manyara Region). Kilimanjaro (in Kilimanjaro Region) is 44 miles east of Mount Meru. Remains of a 1,000-year-old stone structure are found at Engaruka.

The Great Rift Valley cuts right through the middle of the region north-to-south. Oldonyo Lengai (Mountain of God in Maasai language) is an active volcano to the north of Ngorongoro. Altitudes throughout the region vary widely, but much of it ranges from 900 to 1600 metres (3,000 to 5,500 feet in elevation. Mt. Meru, the second highest mountain in Tanzania after Kilimanjaro, peaks at 4,655 metres (14,980 feet). Other geographical features include the Lelatema Mountains and the Umba Valley.

The city of Arusha is at the southern foot of Mt. Meru. Areas to the south and southeast of the mountain tend to be sufficiently watered and are the most densely populated areas of the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from