ASEAN Declaration

ASEAN Declaration

ASEAN Declaration

to get instant updates about 'ASEAN Declaration' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

ASEAN Declaration or Bangkok Declaration is the founding document of Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). It was signed in Bangkok on August 8, 1967 by the five ASEAN founding members - Indonesia, Singapore, Philippines, Malaysia and Thailand as a display of solidarity against Communist expansion in Vietnam and communist insurgency within their own borders. It states the basic principles of ASEAN such as cooperation, amity and non-interference. The date is now celebrated as ASEAN Day.

Surrounding Issues


Prior to the declaration, Southeast Asia struggled to contain communist influence. At the time, the Philippine government struggled to give amnesty to former Hukbalahap militants, which staged an armed conflict in Luzon during the 1950s that almost led to the collapse of the central government. Conflict between the Indonesian military and the increasingly influential Indonesian Communist Party ended in late 1965 with the subsequent transition to Suharto's "New Order" that was staunchly anti-communist in contrast to previous president, Sukarno's increasingly communist aligned administration. While Malaya was busy fighting communists during the Malayan Emergency.

Communism also led to the idea of merging the Federation of Malaya, Sarawak, Singapore and North Borneo into one entity, which had the intention of eliminating the possibility of Singapore falling into communism.

Tensions between......

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from