Ash Wednesday (album)

Ash Wednesday (Album)


Ash Wednesday (album)

to get instant updates about 'Ash Wednesday (Album)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

<!-- Automatically generated by DASHBot-->

Ash Wednesday is the debut studio album by singer songwriter Elvis Perkins, released on February 20, 2007, on XL Recordings. It is a chronologically sequenced album of songs written before (Tracks 1 to 6) and after (Tracks 7 to 11) the death of his mother, who died on 9/11. In a 2009 interview, Perkins states that the album " been made out to be bleaker than it really is, there were moments of hopefulness on Ash Wednesday too."

Regarding the album's title, Perkins states that it: <blockquote>refers to being left on Wednesday with nothing but ash, because died on a Tuesday - being left with ash on September 12. That was also the day my father died, September 12 . It first occurred to me on Ash Wednesday itself - my consciousness was largely ruled by having lost my mother six months previously.

"All the Night Without Love" was the lead single off the album; "Moon Woman II" appears on the Fast Food Nation soundtrack, and "While You Were Sleeping" was featured in a season 4 episode of The O.C.. The album was released on XL Records and includes backing vocals by Ariana Lenarsky, Shana Levy of indie band Let's Go Sailing, and others.

Track listing

  1. "While You Were......
  2. ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from