Ashta Mathas of Udupi

Ashta Mathas Of Udupi

Ashta Mathas of Udupi

to get instant updates about 'Ashta Mathas Of Udupi' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Tulu Ashta Mathas of Udupi are a group of eight mathas or monasteries established by Sri Madhvacharya the preceptor of the Dvaita school of Hindu thought. For each of the eight mathas, Sri Madhvacharya also appointed one of his direct disciples to be the first Swamiji. The names of the mathas and the first Swamijis are:

  1. Palimaru - Sri Hrishikesha Tirtha
  2. Adamaru - Sri Narasimha Tirtha
  3. Krishnapura - Sri Janardhana Tirtha
  4. Puttige - Sri Upendra Tirtha
  5. Shirur - Sri Vamana Tirtha
  6. Sodhe - Sri Vishnu Tirtha
  7. Kaniyooru - Sri Raama Tirtha
  8. Pejavara - Sri Adhokshaja Tirtha

The ashta mathas are named after the villages in which they were originally located. Today, the mathas are situated in the temple town of Udupi. The mathas work to propagate the Dvaita philosophy. They also administer the famous Udupi Krishna Temple by way of a formal rotation scheme called Paryaya.

When the ashta mathas were formed, Sri Madhvacharya initiated the Swamijis of the mathas in pairs. Each pair of mathas is called Dwandva (literally, two or dual). In the event the current Paryaya Swamiji has difficulty performing his duties, the Swamiji from the Dwandwa matha takes over the responsibility. The four pairs of mathas are: Palimaru and Adamaru; Krishnapura and Puttige; Shirur and Sodhe; and Kaniyooru and Pejavara.

See also


External links

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from