Assembly of Turkmenistan

Assembly Of Turkmenistan

Assembly of Turkmenistan

to get instant updates about 'Assembly Of Turkmenistan' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Assembly (Mejlis) is the legislative branch of Turkmenistan. It has 125 members, elected for a five-year term in single-seat constituencies.


Originally, it shared power with the People's Council.

A 2003 law reduced the power of the Assembly and augmented that of the People's Council. The Assembly can now be legally dissolved by the People's Council, is led by the President, and is no longer able to amend the Constitution.

The People's Council was abolished by a new constitution drafted by Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedow in 2008, making the Assembly/Mejlis the unicameral (but apparently still "rubberstamp") parliament again.

The current chairperson is Akja Nuberdiyeva from December 21, 2006. She succeeded Owezgeldi Atayew.


<!--added above categories/infobox footers by script-assisted edit-->

See also

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from