Auckland Rugby Football Union

Auckland Rugby Football Union

Rugby Team
Rugby Team Less

Auckland Rugby Football Union

to get instant updates about 'Auckland Rugby Football Union' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Auckland Rugby Football Union (ARFU) is the governing body of rugby union in the Auckland Region, in the North Island of New Zealand. Its colours are navy blue and white in a hoop design. Auckland's top representative team have won New Zealand's top provincial rugby competition (NPC and Air New Zealand Cup) 16 times, more than any other team, most recently the 2007 competition. The Auckland union acts as a primary feeder to the Blues, who play in Super Rugby, a competition between New Zealand, Australian and South African teams.


The blue-and-white hooped jerseys have been worn by Auckland rugby players since 1875, but it was not until 1883 that Auckland joined Canterbury, Wellington and Otago in the fledgling New Zealand Rugby Football Union. During its history, Auckland rugby has seen extensive rule changes in the early part of the 20th century, the evolution of 15-man rugby in early 1960s, the creation of the NPC through the efforts of Pakuranga United life member Barry Smith, Lew Pryme's introduction of entertainment at Eden Park from 1986, and tours of the Ranfurly Shield to the provinces.Notable players include Bert Cooke in the 1920s, Des Connor, Waka Nathan and Mac Herewini in the 1960s, Bryan Williams and Tim Twigden in the 1970s, Lindsay Harris, John Kirwan and Eroni Clarke in the 1980s, and Carlos Spencer and Doug Howlett in more recent times.Coaches included Sir Vincent Meredith, Fred Allen, Maurice Trapp, John Hart and Graham Henry.All Black...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Rugby Team
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from