Australian Shadows Award

Australian Shadows Award

Award Less

Australian Shadows Award

to get instant updates about 'Australian Shadows Award' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Australian Shadows Award is an annual literary award established by the Australian Horror Writers Association (AHWA) in 2005 to honour the best published work of horror fiction written or edited by an Australian. The award was sponsored by Altair Australia Books in its first two years, through the donation of two statuettes created by dark fantasy artist Brom (supplied by The Franklin Mint).


Works are judged on their overall effect within the horror genre based on the author's skill, delivery, and the work's lasting resonance. Each year, a director is appointed by the AHWA to administer the award. Finalists are generally announced in March and winners in April/May of each year.

For its first four years, the Australian Shadows Award evaluated novels, anthologies, and short stories against each other in a single category. In 2009, the award was expanded into three categories: Short Fiction, Long Fiction, and Edited Publication. A panel of three judges determine each year's shortlists and a guest judge in each category selects the winner from the respective shortlists. A cash prize of $250 Australian, plus a trophy and a certificate, are provided to the winner in each category.

In 2011, the categories of the award will expand to include Best Horror Novella and Best Horror Collection. The award does not yet have a specific category for poetry or criticism.

Judges history


  • ......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from