Autonomous regions of Portugal

Autonomous Regions Of Portugal

Autonomous regions of Portugal

to get instant updates about 'Autonomous Regions Of Portugal' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The two Autonomous Regions of Portugal (Portuguese: Regiões Autónomas de Portugal) are the Azores (Região Autónoma dos Açores) and Madeira (Região Autónoma da Madeira). Together with Continental Portugal (Portugal Continental), they form the whole of the Portuguese Republic.

As defined by the Constitution of Portugal and other laws, an Autonomous region possesses its own Political and Administrative Statute and has its own Government. The branches of Government are the Regional Executive (Governo Regional), and the Legislative Parliament (Assembleia Legislativa). The Parliament is elected by universal suffrage, using the D'Hondt method of proportional representation.

Originally, the sovereignty of the Portuguese Republic was represented in each Autonomous Region by the Minister of the Republic (Ministro da República), proposed by the Government of the Republic and appointed by the President of the Republic. After the sixth amendment to the Portuguese Constitution was passed in 2006, the Minister of the Republic was replaced by a less-powerful Representative of the Republic (Representante da República).

The President of the Regional Executive (Presidente do Governo Regional) is appointed by the Representative of the Republic according to the results of the parliament election.

Current Presidents of the Regional Executive:


Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from