Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences

Azerbaijan National Academy Of Sciences

Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences

to get instant updates about 'Azerbaijan National Academy Of Sciences' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences (ANAS) (Azeri: Azərbaycan Milli Elmlər Akademiyası (AMEA)), located in Baku, is the main state research organization in Azerbaijan. It was established in 1935.


The Academy was based on the Azerbaijan Society for Scientific Research and Studies, which was first affiliated with Baku State University and later with the USSR Academy of Sciences. In 1945, the USSR Council of People's Commissars ordered the society to be reorganized into the Academy of Sciences of the Azerbaijan SSR. During its first year, the Academy numbered 15 members; Uzeyir Hajibeyov and Samad Vurgun among them.. Retrieved 31 December 2006

The Presidium is currently located in the historical Ismailiyya building on Istiglaliyyat Street in the center of Baku.


Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences is divided into 5 departments (altogether they affiliate over 30 research and cultural institutions throughout the country), namely:
  • Physics, Mathematics and Technological Studies Department
  • Chemistry Department
  • Earth Sciences Department
  • Biology Department
  • Social Sciences Department
The Academy has regional branches in Ganja, Shaki and Lankaran.


The Academy has a two-tier membership. Currently there are 57 active members and 104 corresponding members. Membership is granted through vote. The Academy also grants honorary membership.


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from