Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University

University Less

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University

to get instant updates about 'Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU) () is the only medical university in Bangladesh. The university offers MD, MS, MPhil, MDS, Diploma and FCPS Courses. The current vice chancellor is Prof. Pran Gopal Datta.


The university was established in December 1965, as a Government-controlled postgraduate institute named Institute of Postgraduate Medicine and Research (IPGMR) (popularly called PG Hospital), by Government of Pakistan in then East Pakistan (now Bangladesh). It was established in place of Hotel Shahbag, once the biggest hotel in Dhaka. The neighbourhood got its name Shahbag from the name of that hotel. From 2010, many of the medical and public health colleges/institutes have come under common affiliation to BSMMU. For example BIRDEM, BIHS, DMC, NICVD, NITOR and many others.In different post graduation courses many foreigners, notably from Nepal and Bhutan are studying. For example in main University (Rajat Kayastha, Archan Rana, Sudhanshu Jha, Satya Narayan Chaudhary) as well as in affiliated colleges like Bangladesh Institute of Health Sciences,BIHS. (Kiran Niraula, Janaki Parajuli, Pukar Thapa, Pradip Mishra, Sarswoti Shrestha from Nepal, Zahara Ali Rizvi from Pakistan and Kalyan Bhowmik from India)

It was renamed as Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University by the Act (No. 1, 1998) of Jatiyo Sangshad after the first President of Bangladesh, Bongobondhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from