Baramulla district

Baramulla District

Indian Jurisdiction
Indian Jurisdiction Less

Baramulla district

to get instant updates about 'Baramulla District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

<!-- Unsourced image removed: -->Baramulla district (Gujari/Kashmiri: बारामूला ज़िला <small>(Devanagari)</small>, بارامولا ضلع <small>(Nastaleeq)</small>) is one of the 22 districts in Jammu and Kashmir (Indian-Administered). Baramulla city is the administrative headquarters of this district. The district covers an area of 4190 km².


The name Baramulla, meaning "Boar's Molar Place," is derived from two Sanskrit words Varaha (Boar) and Mula. According to Hindu teaching, the valley of Kashmir was once a lake called "Satisaras," the lake of Parvati. The ancient Hindu texts state that the lake was occupied by a demon, Jalodbhava, until Lord Vishnu, assumed the form of a boar and struck the mountain with his molar at Baramulla (ancient Varahamula) boring an opening in it for the water to flow out.


Baramullah district comprises eight tehsils: Pattan, Uri, Kreeri, Boniyar, Tangmarg, Sopore, Rafaiabad, and Baramulla.

This district consists of 12 blocks: Uri, Rohama, Rafiabad, Zaingeer, Sopore, Boniyar, Baramullah, Tangmarg, Singpora, Pattan, Wagoora and Kunzer. The Pattan tehsil is the largest tehsil of the district Baramulla, which was later split into Tehsil Kreeri.

Pattan Town is situated in the centre between...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Jurisdiction
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from