Barkston Ash (UK Parliament constituency)

Barkston Ash (UK Parliament Constituency)

Barkston Ash (UK Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'Barkston Ash (UK Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Barkston Ash was a parliamentary constituency centred on the village of Barkston Ash in the West Riding of Yorkshire (now part of North Yorkshire). It was represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom from 1885 until 1983. It elected one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election.


The constituency was created under the Redistribution of Seats Act 1885, and in the main returned Conservative MPs at every general election until its abolition. However, it was briefly represented by the Liberal Joseph Andrews, who won the seat at a by-election in October 1905 after the death of its first MP, Sir Robert Gunter. The Conservatives regained the seat at the 1906 general election.

At the 1983 general election, Barkston Ash was replaced by the Selby constituency. At the 2010 general election, the modern equivalent of Barkston Ash will be Selby and Ainsty.


The Redistribution of Seats Act 1885 provided that the constituency was to consist of-
  • the Sessional Divisions of-
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from