Batken Province

to get instant updates about 'Batken Province' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Batken Province (Kyrgyz: Баткен областы, Batken oblast; ) is a province (oblast) of Kyrgyzstan. Its capital is Batken. It is bounded on the east by Osh Province, on the south, west and north by Tajikistan and on the northeast by Uzbekistan. The northern part of the province is part of the flat, agricultural Ferghana Valley. The land rises southward to the mountains on the southern border: the Alay Mountains in the east, and the Turkestan Range in the west.

The population of the province was reported as 382,400 by the census of 1999. Of them, 26.2 per cent lived in the province's four cities, and 73.8 per cent in the rural areas. The majority (74.3 per cent) of the province's population are Kyrgyz; there are also Uzbeks (14.4 per cent) and Tajiks (6.9 per cent), as well as a few Russians (2.2 per cent), Tatars (1 per cent), and Turks (0.3 per cent).

Batken province was created on 12 October 1999, from the westernmost section of Osh Province. This was partly in response to the activities of the Islamic Movement for Uzbekistan (IMU), with bases in Tajikistan. In 1999 they kidnapped a group of Japanese geologists and in 2000 some American climbers. In the two years, 49 Kyrgyz soldiers were killed. There have been no incidents since, except for an attack on a Tajik border post in May 2006, which was probably connected to drug running.

Basic Socio-Economic Indicators

  • Population: 428,800 (assessment......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from