Blue Nile (state)

Blue Nile (State)

State Less

Blue Nile (state)

to get instant updates about 'Blue Nile (State)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Blue Nile (; transliterated: an-Nyl al-Azraq; called Central Al Wustá during 1991—1994) is one of the 15 states of Sudan. It was established by Presidential Decree Nº3 in 1992 and is named after the Blue Nile River. It has an area of 45,844 km² and an estimated population of 1,193,293 . The Central Bureau of Statistics estimated the population at 696,000 in 2003. Ad-Damazin is the capital of the state. There are six localities in the state: Ad-Damazin, Baw, Geissan, Kurmuk, Roseires and Tadamon. Blue Nile State is home to the Roseires Dam, the main source of hydroelectric power in Sudan until the completion of the Merowe Dam in 2010.

The region is host to around forty different ethnic groups. Its economic activity is based upon agriculture and livestock and increasing mineral exploitation.

In 2011, residents of Blue Nile will hold ill-defined "popular consultations" to determine the constitutional future of the state.


External links



<!--Other languages-->

نیلا نیلMuya nga Nilo
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from