Bodoland Territorial Council

Bodoland Territorial Council

Indian Jurisdiction
Indian Jurisdiction Less

Bodoland Territorial Council

to get instant updates about 'Bodoland Territorial Council' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) is a territorial privilege established according to the Memorandum of SettlementFull text , February 10, 2003, signed by Government of India, Government of Assam and Bodo Liberation Tigers of February 10, 2003. BTC came into existence immediately after surrender of BLTF cadres. The BLTF laid down their weapons on December 6, 2003 under the leadership of Hagrama Mohilary and Hagrama was sworn in as the Chief Executive Member (CEM) on December 7, 2003. The BTC has 12 electorate members each looking after a specific area of control call somisthi. The area under the BTC jurisdiction is called the Bodo Territorial Autonomous District (BTAD).

The BTAD is to consist of four contiguous districts—Kokrajhar, Baska, Udalguri and Chirang—carved out of eight existing districts—Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Bongaigaon, Barpeta, Nalbari, Kamrup, Darrang and Sonitpur—an area of 27,100 kmĀ² (35% of Assam).Prabhakar M. S. (2003) Frontline, 20:24, November 22, 2003 That the BTAD is created under the sixth schedule of the Constitution of India has been opposed by some organizations.Patowary, Ajit (2003) , The Assam Tribune, March 3, 2003

See also


<div class="references-small">

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Jurisdiction
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from