Campeonato Carioca

Campeonato Carioca

Campeonato Carioca

to get instant updates about 'Campeonato Carioca' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Campeonato Carioca, also known as Campeonato Estadual do Rio de Janeiro, is the football league of the state of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and is one of the most prestigious national football tournaments. It is organized by the Rio de Janeiro State Football Federation.

The first season of the Campeonato Carioca was played in 1906 making it the third oldest league in Brazil, with only the Campeonato Paulista of São Paulo and the Campeonato Baiano of Bahia predating it.

Rivalries amongst four of the most prestigious Brazilian teams (Botafogo, Flamengo, Fluminense and Vasco da Gama) have marked the history of the competition.

The oldest clubs from Rio de Janeiro (América, Botafogo, Flamengo, Fluminense, São Cristóvão, Vasco da Gama) had inspired the creation of many clubs from other states.

Fluminense is the team with the largest number of titles of the XXth century, with 28, being known as the "champion of the century". Flamengo leads the new century with 6 titles and the overall counting with 32 titles against 30 from Fluminense.


The early years

In the beginning of the 20th century, the number of football clubs in Rio de Janeiro and Niterói increased dramatically, clubs such as Rio Cricket and Athletic Association in Niterói, Fluminense Football Club in 1902, and Bangu Atlético Club, América Football Club, and Botafogo Football Club in 1904 being founded. Football became very popular, and a campaign was initiated to organize a football league...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from