Campo de Gibraltar

Campo De Gibraltar

Comarca Less

Campo de Gibraltar

to get instant updates about 'Campo De Gibraltar' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The comarca of the Campo de Gibraltar is a comarca (county, but with no administrative role) in the province of Cádiz, Spain, in the southwestern part of the autonomous community of Andalusia, the southernmost part of continental Western Europe. It comprises the municipalities of Algeciras, La Línea de la Concepción, San Roque, Los Barrios, Castellar de la Frontera, Jimena de la Frontera and Tarifa.

Its name (literally the Gibraltar Countryside) comes from the municipal term of the town of Gibraltar, now a British Overseas Territory. Until 1704, the Campo de Gibraltar was simply the term for the municipality of Gibraltar, about 500 km<sup>2</sup> corresponding approximately to the current municipalities of Algeciras, San Roque, Los Barrios and La Línea de la Concepción. Following the capture of Gibraltar by Anglo-Dutch troops in 1704 during the War of the Spanish Succession and its subsequent cession, in 1713, to Great Britain, the former inhabitants of Gibraltar settled down permanently and the first villages were created: Algeciras, San Roque, and Los Barrios, still for many years officially termed the municipality of Gibraltar. In 1759, each of them was established as a different municipality.

The Campo de Gibraltar comarca is integrated by the following municipalities:


External links

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from