Canada Davis Cup team

Canada Davis Cup Team

Canada Davis Cup team

to get instant updates about 'Canada Davis Cup Team' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Canada Davis Cup team represents Canada in Davis Cup tennis competition and is governed by Tennis Canada.

Canada currently competes in the Americas Zone of Group I. The team's best result came in its first appearance in 1913 when it reached the World Group final, losing to the United States 0–3. Canada last competed in the World Group in 2004.

History of Team Canada in Davis Cup

Canada competed in its first Davis Cup in 1913. The team won its first tie, played in June at the Queen's Club, London over South Africa by a score of 4–1. The team consisted of just two players, Robert Powell and Bernard Schwengers. Canada then in July easily defeated Belgium in the semi-finals 4–0. In the playoff final however, played a week later, they lost all three matches to the Americans in straight sets. (The Americans went on to defeat Great Britain in the challenge round, to win the competition.)

Canada did not play a World Group tie from 1921 until 1991, when the team of Grant Connell, Glenn Michibata, Andrew Sznajder, and Martin Wostenholme, with team captain Pierre Lamarche, lost 1–4 away to Spain. The following year, again in the World Group first round, Canada came closer to advancing, going down 2–3 at home to Sweden despite taking a first-day 2–0 lead. The tie was highlighted by a surprise singles win of rookie Daniel Nestor over superstar Stefan Edberg. Nestor could not repeat the magic, however, losing in the deciding rubber match in 5 sets to Magnus......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from