Carlow County Council

Carlow County Council

Legislature Less

Carlow County Council

to get instant updates about 'Carlow County Council' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Carlow County Council () is the local authority which is responsible for the county of Carlow in Ireland. The Council is responsible for Housing and Community, Roads and Transportation, Urban planning and Development, Amenity and Culture, and Environment. The head of the council has the title of Mayor. The county seat is at County Buildings, Carlow town.

The county council is governed by the Local Government Act 2001. The county is divided into five electoral area and has 21 councillors who are elected every five years by single transferable vote. The county administration is headed by a County Manager, currently Tom Barry.


For the purpose of elections the council is divided into five local electoral areas: Borris (3), Carlow East (4), Carlow West (5), Muine Bheag (4) and Tullow (4).

2009 Seats summary

Councillors by electoral area

This list reflects the order in which councillors were elected on 5 June 2009.

<sup>†</sup>One councillor who was elected to the council at the 2009 poll were elected to Dáil Éireann at the 2011 general election. Accordingly his council seats will be filled by co-option.

2011 co-option

See also


External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from