Celtic nations

to get instant updates about 'Celtic Nations' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Celtic nations are territories in North-West Europe in which that area's own Celtic languages and cultural traits have survived. The term "nation" is used in this context to mean a generally defined region that is associated with a common identity, language or culture. It is not synonymous with "sovereign state", but rather with traditional territories.

The six territories recognised as Celtic nations are Brittany (Breizh), Cornwall (Kernow), Ireland (√Čire), the Isle of Man (Mannin), Scotland (Alba), and Wales (Cymru). In addition, areas of the northern Iberian Peninsula, particularly Galicia, are sometimes identified as part of the Celtic nations, due to the unique culture of the region. Unlike the others, however, no Celtic language was spoken there in modern times. Before the expansions of the Roman Republic and Germanic tribes, a significant part of Western Europe was mainly Celtic.

Six Celtic nations

Each of the six nations has its own Celtic language. In Wales, Scotland, Brittany, and Ireland, these have been spoken continuously through time, while Cornwall and the Isle of Man have...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from