Central Committee for Defending Albanian Rights

Central Committee For Defending Albanian Rights

Central Committee for Defending Albanian Rights

to get instant updates about 'Central Committee For Defending Albanian Rights' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Central Committee for Defending Albanian Rights was formed in the city of Istanbul, Turkey, then Ottoman Empire in 1877 by an influential group of Albanian intellectuals, patriots, and politicians, such as Sami Frashëri, Pashko Vasa, Abdyl Frashëri, Jani Vreto, Ymer Prizreni, Zija Prishtina, Ahmet Koronica, Mihal Harito, Iljaz Dibra, Mehmet Ali Vrioni, Seid Toptani, Mustafa Nuri Vlora, Pandeli Sotiri, Hasan Tahsini, Koto Hoxhi, and Mane Tahiri.

The goal of the committee was to disseminate the idea of an autonomous Albanian region within the steadily diminishing Ottoman Empire. The Committee's plan and ideals were printed in the Tercuman i Sark paper, and anticipated the founding of a single Albanian vilayet that would encompass the vilayets of Kosovo, Monastir, Janina and Scutari. Contrary to what is often said, a claim for territories very often included the Salonica Vilayet too. As support for both the committee and the idea of a united autonomous Albania grew, supporters decided to meet in the city of Prizren. This became the first meeting of what came to be known as the Prizren League.

See also

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from